Tuesday, August 11, 2020

California Adds Iowa to Its ‘No Travel’ List

In 2016, the California state government passed Assembly Bill 1887, banning taxpayer-funded travel to states that supposedly fail to provide “protections against discrimination based on sexual orientation, gender identity or gender expression.”

The first states added to that list included Texas, Oklahoma, Mississipi, and Kentucky. 

Now, liberals in Sacramento have added one more. (The Sacramento Bee)

Attorney General Xavier Becerra on Friday extended California’s ban on taxpayer-funded trips to an 11th state, adding Iowa to the list based on the Midwestern state’s passage of a law that removed gender protections under Medicaid.

Becerra’s order means public employees and college students may not travel to Iowa under provisions of a 2016 California law.



Twelve years ago, Iowa’s Legislature made gender identity a protected characteristic under its Civil Rights Act, which prohibited refusing service to or discriminating against people based on their gender identity preferences.

In March 2019, the state’s Supreme Court ruled the protection extended to gender transition surgeries under the state’s Medicaid program. Two months later, Iowa Gov. Kim Reynolds signed a bill banning Medicaid spending on the surgeries.

AAN Staff
AAN Staff
The staff at American Action News are consummate professionals, who when not producing original, hard-hitting content, are scouring the internet to bring you the unfiltered news that matters to you! Our mission is to maximize your experience on our website. If we can ever be of assistance, please do not hesitate to let us know!
0 0 vote
Article Rating
Notify of
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments

People, Places & Things

- Advertisment -

Must Read