Key State Moves to Ban Sanctuary Cities

  • 2019-04-26
  • Source: AAN
  • by: AAN Staff
Florida's state government is poised to ban sanctuary cities in a vote on a bill later today after it cleared a major hurdle in Tallahassee earlier this week.

The pending legislation would require local jurisdictions to cooperate with federal immigration officials. (Fox News)

β€œThe Governor may initiate judicial proceedings in the name of the state against such officers to enforce compliance,” a draft version of the Senate bill reads.

A House version of the bill, which passed by a 69-47 vote Wednesday, adds that non-complying officials could be suspended or removed from office and face fines of up to $5,000 per day. Republican Gov. Ron DeSantis is expected to sign off on the measure, although it's not clear which version.

Florida is home to 775,000 illegal immigrants out of 10.7 million present in the United States, ranking the state third among all states.

Nine states -- Alabama, Arizona, Georgia, Iowa, North Carolina, Mississippi, Missouri, Tennessee, and Texas -- already have enacted state laws requiring law enforcement to comply with Immigration and Customs Enforcement.

Although most analysts say Florida doesn't have sanctuary cities, Republican lawmakers argue municipalities like Orlando and West Palm Beach act as pseudo-sanctuary cities, because they prevent authorities from asking detained suspects about their immigration status.
 Source: AAN
Tags: Issues: Crime, AAN Exclusive; Categories:

People, Places & Things

Article Index