Meet the GOP Senators Who Voted to End the Shutdown

  • 2019-01-24
  • Source: AAN
  • by: AAN Staff
Meet the GOP Senators Who Voted to End the Shutdown
By Charles te Mechelen - Rhino Resource Center, Public Domain,
Six Republican Senators voted with their Democratic colleagues this afternoon to advance a stopgap measure to end the 34-day partial government shutdown.

The "clean" funding bill provided no additional funding for President Trump's proposed wall. (The Hill)

GOP Sens. Lamar Alexander (Tenn.), Susan Collins (Maine), Cory Gardner (Colo.), Johnny Isakson (Ga.), Lisa Murkowski (Alaska) and Mitt Romney (Utah) voted to advance the continuing resolution (CR), which would have fully reopened the government and funded it through Feb. 8. 

The measure fell short of the 60 votes needed to break a filibuster.

The 52-44 vote in support of reopening the government without additional funding for a U.S.-Mexico border wall is a major blow to Trump and Senate Majority Leader Mitch McConnell (R-Ky.).

The Senate also rejected a Trump-backed proposal on Thursday that included $5.7 billion for a border wall. That 50-47 vote also fell short of the 60 needed to advance.

Approximately 25 percent of the federal government has remained closed since December 22.
 Source: AAN
Tags: Issues: RINO ALERT, AAN Exclusive; Categories:

People, Places & Things

Article Index